Kenley Jansen Honored as NL Reliever of the Year

(Photo Credit: Jon Durr/USA TODAY Sports)

In what promises to be one of several major awards for Dodgers‘ players and coaches this fall, reliever Kenley Jansen was named the 2016 Trevor Hoffman NL Reliever of the Year at a press conference just moments before Saturday’s World Series Game 4 in Chicago.

Jansen put together a 3-2 record and a 1.83 ERA while collecting 47 saves in 71 games for the Dodgers in 2016. In 68-2/3 innings pitched, the 29-year-old struck out 104 batters and yielded only 35 hits and 11 walks, resulting in a MLB-best WHIP of 0.67. The Curaçao native owned the best strikeout-to-walk ratio in the National League at 9.45. The first-time All-Star limited opposing hitters to a .150 batting average, the best mark for any reliever in the Majors, as well as .252 slugging percentage allowed.

During his 2016 season, the former catcher, who has competed for the Netherlands in the two most recent World Baseball Classics, also established new Dodger franchise marks in saves, finishing the year with 189 career saves after surpassing Eric Gagne. His 632 career strikeouts as a reliever eclipsed Jim Brewer’s Dodger record of 604. Jansen anchored a Dodger bullpen that combined to set a franchise record with 590-2/3 innings pitched and 607 total appearances, both of which led the Majors. The 6’5” right-hander holds a 2.20 career ERA across seven Major League seasons.

Zach Britton of the Baltimore Orioles was the recipient of the 2016 Mariano Rivera American League Reliever of the Year Award. Major League Baseball and presenting sponsor The Hartford made the announcement, with Jansen, Britton, Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr., Hoffman, Rivera and Doug Elliot, president of The Hartford, all in attendance.

Balloting for both awards was conducted among a panel of eight all-time great relievers in order to determine the recipients. Rivera and Hoffman were joined as voters by legends Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Bruce Sutter, Lee Smith, John Franco and Billy Wagner.

“Congratulations to Zach Britton and Kenley Jansen for their outstanding performances this season,” Elliot said. “Zach and Kenley consistently deliver for their teams during the biggest moments of a game. At The Hartford, we are committed to doing the same for our customers by ensuring they prevail when the unexpected happens.”

The AL relievers who were the runners-up are Cleveland Indians left-hander Andrew Miller (70 G, 10-1, 1.45 ERA, 12 saves, 74.1 IP, 42 H, 9 BB, 123 SO, 0.69 WHIP), who was the winner of the 2015 Rivera Award, and right-hander Roberto Osuna (72 G, 4-3, 2.68 ERA, 36 saves, 74.0 IP, 55 H, 14 BB, 82 SO, 0.93 WHIP) of the Toronto Blue Jays.

The NL relievers who were the runners-up are Washington Nationals right-hander Mark Melancon (75 G, 2-2, 1.64 ERA, 47 saves, 71.1 IP, 52 H, 12 BB, 65 SO, 0.90 WHIP), who was the recipient of the 2015 Hoffman Award, and right-hander Jeurys Familia (78 G, 3-4, 2.55 ERA, 51 saves, 77.2 IP, 63 H, 31 BB, 84 SO) of the New York Mets.


In blog news, all of us here at TBPC would like to thank everyone who entered our second official reader appreciation giveaway. The randomly chosen winner, @43v3rblue, will receive one 2007 and one 2008 Clayton Kershaw Bowman rookie card. Please continue to visit frequently as we plan to conduct another giveaway close to the beginning of the season.

(Jon Chapper furnished some information provided in this report)


2 thoughts on “Kenley Jansen Honored as NL Reliever of the Year

Leave a Reply